Westmorland and Furness Council Elections 2022

Elections will take place in May to elect 65 Councillors to the Shadow Authority for Westmorland and Furness Council. The Shadow Authority will oversee the planning and preparation for the new unitary council. Once elected Councillors will serve a five-year term of office. The first year on a 'Shadow Authority' followed by four years on Westmorland and Furness Council.

Notice of Election

On Thursday 5 May elections are to be held for Councillors to represent Westmorland and Furness Council Shadow Authority wards.

Full details of how to make nominations, the election process, the new wards and key election officers are included in the Notice of Election Westmorland and Furness Shadow Authority (PDF 121KB / 2 pages).

Westmorland and Furness Council Election Notices lists the Statement of Persons Nominated by Ward.

Information for candidates

Nomination packs for the new wards are now available. We can email packs and nomination papers to you or you can collect them from the election office at the address below.

Electoral Commission: Local elections in England provides guidance about the elections taking place on 5 May 2022.

Candidates can request the register of electors for nominations and these will be available from 28 March 2022.

You can return completed nomination papers to the address below after the publication of the Notice of Election. Please make an appointment for informal checks or formal submission of papers, using the contact details below.

Deadline for return of completed nominations is 4pm on 5 April 2022.

Information for electors

We will send poll cards to everyone on the electoral register from 28 March 2022.

Deadline for registering to vote in this election is 14 April 2022.

Apply to register to vote

Deadline for the return of completed postal vote applications or making amendments to existing absent vote arrangements is 5pm on the 19 April 2022.

Apply for a postal vote

Deadline for the return of completed proxy applications forms is 5pm on the 26 April 2022.

You must return all applications for postal or proxy votes to the relevant area Electoral Registration Officer. 

Apply for a proxy vote

Multi-seat wards and numbers of votes for electors

There are 33 wards being contested in the Westmorland and Furness Council election.

24 of the 33 new wards have more than one 'seat' being contested, meaning voters will be able to vote for either two or three candidates.

The number of seats in each ward has been determined by calculating the ratio of voters in the ward against the 65 councillors who will make up the new council. This means that wards with more voters will have seats for two or three councillors to represent them.

The new warding arrangements and numbers of councillors in each ward have been drawn up against Local Government Boundary Commission guidance and have been approved by Government.

The ballot paper voters will receive either at the polling station on 5 May, or in the post if they have applied for a postal vote, instructions indicating the number of candidates they can vote for (for example, stating ‘Vote for no more than 3 candidates’ if it is a ward with three seats).

Voters are therefore encouraged to read their ballot paper carefully before casting their vote/s to ensure they can vote for the number of candidates they are entitled.

Voters in multi-seat wards do not have to use all the votes they are entitled to if they don’t wish to vote for more than one candidate, and voters in multi-seat wards can choose to use their two or three votes to vote for candidates from different political parties or groups.

The Poll Card that voters will already have received in the post clearly indicates which ward they are in. The following is a list of all 33 Westmorland and Furness Council wards, with the numbers of seats in each ward in brackets:

Barrow area wards

Dalton North (2)

Dalton South (2)

Hawcoat and Newbarns (3)

Old Barrow and Hindpool (3)

Ormsgill and Parkside (3)

Risedale and Roosecote (3)

Walney Island (3)

Eden area wards

Alston and Fellside (2)

Appleby and Brough (2)

Eamont and Shap (1)

Eden and Lyvennet Vale (2)

Greystoke and Ullswater (1)

Hesket and Lazonby (2)

Kirkby Stephen and Tebay (2)

Penrith North (2)

Penrith South (2)

South Lakeland area wards

Bowness and Lyth  (1)

Burton and Holme (1)

Coniston and Hawkshead (1)

Grange and Cartmel (3)

High Furness (1)

Kendal Castle (2)

Kendal Highgate (2)

Kendal Nether (2)

Kendal South (2)

Kendal Strickland and Fell (2)

Kent Estuary (2)

Levens and Crooklands (1)

Low Furness (1)

Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale (2)

Ulverston (3)

Upper Kent (1)

Windermere and Ambleside (3)

Candidates will still be elected on a ‘first past the post’ basis, meaning that in multi-seat wards the two or three candidates with the most votes will be the ones who are elected.

Contact details

Electoral Commission: Elections in your area provides contact details for electoral services team at your local council and polling station details.