About the council changes

Your new Westmorland and Furness Council and the services we deliver.

Westmorland and Furness Council is a unitary council. We have replaced:

  • Barrow Borough Council
  • Cumbria County Council
  • Eden District Council
  • South Lakeland District Council

We deliver a range of services including:

  • Collecting bins and recycling
  • Planning
  • Council Tax and benefits
  • Maintaining roads, pavements and footpaths
  • Schools and social care

We cover an area that stretches from Alston in our far north east, to Walney Island in our far South West. It includes the towns of Barrow, Kendal and Penrith.

Some of our services are still delivered differently in your local area and you may be asked to select information based on you local area:

  • Barrow
  • Eden
  • South Lakeland

Find your local area by address or post code:


Check another post code